top of page

Mini-Mina


Before I met my husband, I dated someone who was very close friends with a woman who regarded herself as a staunch feminist. She didn't like me. I had only met her once, had been nothing but polite and accommodating, and this was perhaps part of the reason why she didn't like me. According to her, I was too feminine, "a damsel in distress."

I wear long skirts. I always have, ever since elementary school. They began as a way to mimic Mina Harker from Dracula, which elementary me read and loved, and later became a central part of my own style. I wear my hair long. I always have, ever since kindergarten, because I like long hair and I enjoy the options I have to play around with it. I'm a small woman, on the shorter side of average, with a slight build. I like cooking, and knitting, and stuffed animals, and small, cute creatures. I like glitter and playing dress-up and putting on make-up. I'm a homemaker, a stay-at-home spouse who takes care of the house while my husband works. I hope one day to be a mother.

None of this means that I am not strong or smart or capable. Femininity does not equate to weakness. And you don't have to give up your femininity to be "a good feminist."

I realize that now, but at the time I felt taken aback, even shamed. It took me a long time to undo this and other toxic messages about femininity, a long time to reclaim my femininity as a source of strength. I feel like I've come a long way, but sometimes this message creeps back into my skin, and I need some time to remember that I am no weaker for my long skirts and long hair, my lipstick and my sparkles. In fact, I think that if more people reclaimed a sense of their femininity, a sense of their gentler nature, an appreciation for flower crowns and the softer things in life, we'd be all the stronger for it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page